What I’m listening to this summer…

Sidney Bechet – Si tu vois ma mere

A combination of a new-found interest in jazz and watching Midnight in Paris for the millionth time (and going there last week) led me to completely fall in love with Sidney Bechet’s Si tu vois ma mere. After hearing it set to the backdrop of idyllic views of Paris in the opening scenes, it seems hard for this song to symbolise anything else. Thank you Woody Allen for introducing me!

Icona Pop (feat. Charli XCX) – I Love It

This song seems to be everywhere now, but I first heard on HBO’s show Girls in the scene where Hannah, out of journalistic duty, snorts coke and goes to a rave, singing along to the chorus of I Love It. Although tedious to hear every time you turn the radio on, it’s a great song for parties and general summer fun!

Drenge – Bloodsports

This song has been stuck in my head for a while, and I especially like the video, which seems like a recreation of Blur’s Parklife shoot at Walthamstow stadium!

Deap Vally – Gonna Make my Own Money

I missed out on the chance to see Deap Vally performing with Drenge in Manchester a few weeks back , but I love their style and to me, it feels like Courtney Love started a band with Courtney Love!

Daft Punk (feat. Pharrell Williams) – Get Lucky

And obviously…WE’RE UP ALL NIGHT TO GET LUCKY!  This song has been inescapable this summer, and was even the official song of our school’s prom (not really the message teachers should be sending to a room of 16 year olds on prom night, though?)

.

